Posted in Musings

It’s Dark, But Still…


It’s always darkest before the dawn

But where has all the sunlight gone?

Where hope once stood, so tall and proud

She’s shrunken now, lost in the crowd

 

Love and joy, kindness peace

They all take wing and beg release

Heartache prospers, tears do fall

This wasn’t in the deal at all

 

My words they fall on concrete ears

While I alone drown in my fears

That what I dreaded has come true

My heart that beats, beats just for you

 

And yet you try to look away

With every word that I don’t say

I know that I’m the one to blame

Yet all that changes stay the same

 

I in my world, alone am I

My chosen path, don’t even try

And still the strength it rises still

I will, I will, I will, I WILL

 

Not for you and not for me

But for another, my world to thee

I don’t know how or when or where

I’m always on my way to there

 

So for the things you’ve taught me now

I will not fall, I will not bow

Purposes, mine, and deep they stay

I’m not alone, I still can pray…

©Phoenix Rising/All Out War

Author:

I have already walked a long and winding road, sometimes choosing the road less traveled, and sometimes choosing the wrong road all together. Still one fact remains... were it not for God, I would not have made it this far, if at all. I am a freelance writer, blogger and B2B copywriter. My love for writing has been with me my entire life and nothing pleases me more than to be doing exactly what I love.

4 thoughts on “It’s Dark, But Still…

  1. There is divine power in the prayer of a righteous woman. It is nuclear, atomic yet creative. Praise God for wet cheeks and worn knee caps, mothers are praying for their families. Sometimes, this is the stretched elastic band that holds it all together. Lord Jesus turn the tide in the morning, amenn!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

