Posted in Faith

Forgetting and Letting Go


Sometimes, we are our own worst enemy. I think I mentioned that recently. We have a way of doing to ourselves what no one else can do because who knows US better than WE? Only God. But He is not in the habit of knocking us down with things that have already knocked us down. Maybe He, in His sovereignty, knows that we will do that job well enough without any help at all!

Maybe that’s why He told us not to think about the past. Isaiah 43:18-19 says: Remember ye not the former things, neither consider the things of old. Behold, I will do a new thing, now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it? I will even make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.

Really, I suggest reading that entire chapter. It’s really uplifting especially if we’re going through some things. He reminds us that WHEN – NOT IF – we go through things, it won’t be more than we can bear, that He makes a way of escape, or triumph, or some manner of coming away a little better off than most.

Remember a while back, when I talked about the Scripture that tells us His mercies are new every morning? Well, I think it’s an ongoing theme that He would like us to keep in mind. What’s behind us is past and gone and truly, only the memory remains. Tomorrow is forever a day a way, and Jesus says we shouldn’t waste our time worrying about it. But every new day, every single one, is full of mercy and the opportunity to do it all over again, with a better outcome.

Thanks again for stopping by! Have a great day!

Author:

I have already walked a long and winding road, sometimes choosing the road less traveled, and sometimes choosing the wrong road all together. Still one fact remains... were it not for God, I would not have made it this far, if at all. I am a freelance writer, blogger and B2B copywriter. My love for writing has been with me my entire life and nothing pleases me more than to be doing exactly what I love.

4 thoughts on “Forgetting and Letting Go

Leave a Reply

