Posted in Musings

Monday, Monday


Today is Monday. It’s been a complete day of havoc and mayhem and all that stuff. And just a few days after I made the comment that my daughter, in all her wide wisdom, told me not to make… “You know, Mondays have never been allย that bad.”

I know. Completely ridiculous thing to say, huh?

Well I said it all right. And today started off late… I didn’t even hear the alarm go off. My back was giving me fits and as I sat up in bed, I commented again that we might want to look into getting a different mattress. I don’t know whether or not it would help, but I keep thinking it. I sent my husband off to work without his lunch. Which isn’t like me at all! Then, as I was getting everything ready to start the day, I dumped a glass of soda right into my laptop keyboard!

That’s when I just stopped everything and cried. Anyone that knows me knows most of my life, outside of my family, is IN THIS THING!!! Don’t get me wrong, I keep my really important stuff backed up on Onedrive and Dropbox, but still… it’s how I do everything from writing, to shopping, to weather, to movies, to talking to people…just about everything!

I immediately unplugged it, flipped it, pulled the battery out and held it upside down. {Oh and no, this ain’t the first time it’s happened, lol.} Then while it was sitting upside down, I ran and grabbed the vacuum and vacuumed out the keyboard and the back of the thing. Then I just left it, sitting upside down on the bed, assuming that it would be the last I would see of it. I tried to stay busy, but I just couldn’t keep my mind off the fact that I had known better, yet I still sat my soda right beside my laptop (which will never happen again, I assure you!) and here I was, without a laptop.

One of the things I did to try to stay busy was to mop. I had mopped last night, and left the mop water sitting and when I dumped it out this morning, a mouse had drowned in the water. So, I started to cry again! Poor thing, that absolutely broke my heart, even though I really don’t like them or want them in my house, thinking of the poor thing falling in and drowning just broke my heart.

On a happier note, though, my wonderfully tech-savvy husband came in from work and had my laptop running in less than an hour I’d say. He knows just what to do and after hearing my story and all my apologies, he hugged me, kissed me on the forehead and said we would work something out. And sure enough, here I sit…typing away on it!

I think I’ve joined the ranks of those who are a bit less than enthused with Mondays. However, I’ve learned a valuable lesson or two: do NOT sit your drink next to your laptop, and back stuff up on a regular basis!! I knew better than the whole “drink” ordeal, but I had only planned on leaving it for a few seconds…just goes to show how fast something can happen. And thank God for Dropbox and Onedrive. If you don’t have them, and have anything important you need to keep, by all means download them and start using them. That was my only solace in thinking my laptop was gone, was the fact that my work was still going to be accessible, even if a lot of my pictures wouldn’t be.

I sure hope you guys have had a better Monday than me! Thanks for stopping by!

Author:

I have already walked a long and winding road, sometimes choosing the road less traveled, and sometimes choosing the wrong road all together. Still one fact remains... were it not for God, I would not have made it this far, if at all. I am a freelance writer, blogger and B2B copywriter. My love for writing has been with me my entire life and nothing pleases me more than to be doing exactly what I love.

2 thoughts on “Monday, Monday

Leave a Reply

