Posted in Don't Forget The Old Ways Reblogs

Cast Iron Is Still Going Strong


Don't Forget The Old Ways

Cast iron has been used for cooking for over 2000 years. Well, that’s the rumor, but I’m sure it’s close.

As long as there has been a meal to make, apparently, cast iron has been one of the means to get it done.

Since the “stove” did not come along until about the middle of the nineteenth century in Europe, cast iron was about the best thing to cook in over an open fire. (It still is today, in my opinion!)

cooking-pot-165097_960_720

Even when cooking got moved indoors, with the addition of fireplaces and hearts, cast iron “spiders” were often used, as well as the hanging dutch oven.

It took me a while to figure out what a spider was, actually. I have always been an avid collector or very old cookbooks and you see a lot about searing and cooking things over an open fire in a spider.

As it…

View original post 755 more words

Author:

I have already walked a long and winding road, sometimes choosing the road less traveled, and sometimes choosing the wrong road all together. Still one fact remains... were it not for God, I would not have made it this far, if at all. I am a freelance writer, blogger and B2B copywriter. My love for writing has been with me my entire life and nothing pleases me more than to be doing exactly what I love.

Leave a Reply

